Showing posts with label the reluctant fundamentalist. Show all posts
Showing posts with label the reluctant fundamentalist. Show all posts

21 February 2013

Have You Picked A Side? Watch Trailer For Mira Nair's Reluctant Fundamentalist

No comments: Links to this post
So whose side are you on? it's a question been asked in Mira Nair's post 9/11 drama The Reluctant Fundamentalist which now has an official trailer check it out below.

Based on a award-winning 2007 novel by Mohsin Hamid, The Reluctant Fundamentalist stars Riz Ahmed as Changez a talented young Pakistani man who graduates from Princeton. Thanks to his hard work he finds himself in a lucrative position on Wall street but this is 2001 before then after the events of 11 September 2001 a tragic event that sees the American dream wilt away and his views on America plus himself gradually change.

Nearly 12 years after the tragic events of 9/11 fear still roams  though it may not be on the same level  it's still there sadly a lot of that fear and prejudice especially against anyone of the Muslim faith. Simply because of your faith you become a target of racial profiling, bigots you could say creating monsters out of those who think everyone from the Middle East, Asia, Africa even our on country is a terrorist which we know is a lie.In The Reluctant Fundamentalist it takes centre stage, who Am I ? The film may not deliver something highly original but  evaluates the manner of the things that take place.It's great to British actor Riz Ahmed like Noel Clarke finally starting to move into the more glamorous route of Hollywood who looks to deliver a strong controlled performance.

The Reluctant Fundamentalist is set for a 19th April UK release with a limited 26th April release in USA. The film co-stars Liev Schreiber, Keifer Sutherland, Kate Hudson, Om Puri and Martin Donavan.


26 July 2012

Malick To De Palma, Venice Film Festival Announces 2012 Line-up

No comments: Links to this post

Hot on the heels of this weeks Toronto Film Festival line up, the 2012 line up for Venice Film Festival was announced. Film auteur Terrence Malick will show To The Wonder, unusually second film  for the reclusive film maker in 2 years but still an film which will have the festival goers excited. Malick's film will be one of the 17 other films challenging to win this year's Golden Lion with At Any Price (Ramin Bahrani), Pieta ( Kim Ki-duk), Spring Breakers (Harmony Korine), Outrage: Beyond (Takeshi Kitano) and Passion (Brian De Palma). Usually Venice film festival usually dominated with films that have cross over to Toronto but this year Malick‘s To the Wonder, Robert Redford‘s The Company You Keep, Ramin Bahrani‘s At Any Price, Mira Nair‘s The Reluctant Fundamentalist, and Ariel Vromen‘s The Iceman which is a lot lower than previous years. It's not all about what is crossing over between the two festivals Venice Film Festival does have a few high end exclusives with Brian De Palma's Passion (Noomi Rapace, Rachael McAdams) Michael Mann's Witness Libya and Harmony Korine Springbreakers most notable exclusives.

Mira Nair's The Reluctant Fundamentalist starring Riz Ahmed, Kiefer Sutherland, Kate Hudson will have the privilege of opening this years festival however there will be no PT Anderson's The Master  which will fuel rumours that Toronto maybe the chosen destination to premier.

The 69th annual Venice Film Festival will run from August 29th until September 8th.

Opening Film (Out Of Competition)
The Reluctant Fundamentalist – Mira Nair (U.S.,Qatar)

To The Wonder – Terrence Malick (U.S.)
Something in the Air – Olivier Assayas (France)
Outrage: Beyond – Takeshi Kitano (Japan)
Fill The Void – Rama Bursztyn and Yigal Bursztyn (Israel)
Pieta – Kim Ki-duk (South Korea)
Dormant Beauty – Marco Bellocchio (Italy)
E’ stato il figlio – Daniele Cipri (Italy)
At Any Price – Ramin Bahrani (US, UK)
La Cinquieme Saison – Peter Brosens, Jessica Woodworth (Belgium, Netherlands, France)
Un Giorno Speciale – Francesca Comencini (Italy)
Passion – Brian De Palma (France, Germany)
Superstar – Xavier Giannoli (France, Belgium)
Spring Breakers – Harmony Korine (US)
Thy Womb – Brillante Mendoza (Philippines)
Linhas de Wellington – Valeria Sarmiento (Portugal, France)
Paradise: Faith – Ulrich Seidl (Austria, France, Germany)
Betrayal – Kirill Serebrennikov (Russia)

Out Of Competition
L’homme qui rit – Jean-Pierre Ameris (France-Czech Republic)
Love Is All You Need – Susanne Bier (Denmark-Sweden)
Cherchez Hortense – Pascal Bonitzer (France)
Sur un fil – Simon Brook (France-Italy)
Enzo Avitabile Music Life – Jonathan Demme (Italy-US)
Tai Chi 0 – Stephen Fung (China)
Lullaby To My Father – Amos Gitai (Israel-France-Switzerland)
Penance (Shokuzai) – Kiyoshi Kurosawa (Japan)
Bad 25 – Spike Lee (US)
O Gebo e a Sombra – Manoel de Oliveira (Portugal-France)
The Company You Keep – Robert Redford (US)
Shark (Bait 3D) – Kimble Rendall (Australia-Singapore-China)
Disconnect – Henry-Alex Rubin (US)
The Iceman – Ariel Vromen (US)

Out Of Competition: Special Events
Anton’s Right Here – Lyubov Arkus (Russia)
It Was Better Tomorrow – Hinde Boujemaa (Tunisia)
Clarisse – Liliana Cavani (Italy)
Sfiorando il muro – Silvia Giralucci and Luca Ricciardi (Italy)
Carmel – Amos Gitai (Israel-France-Italy)
El impenetrable – Daniele Incalcaterra and Fausta Quattrini (Argentina-France)
Witness: Libya – Michael Mann (US)
Medici con l’Africa – Carlo Mazzacurati (Italy)
La nave dolce – Daniele Vicari (Italy-Albania)

Wadjda – Haifaa Al Mansour (Saudi Arabia-Germany)
The Paternal House – Kianoosh Ayari (Iran)
I Also Want It -, Alexey Balabanov (Russia)
Gli Equilibristi – Ivano De Matteo (Italy-France)
L’intervallo – Leonardo Di Costanzo (Italy-Switzerland-Germany)
Winter of Discontent – Ibrahim El Batout (Egypt)
Tango Libre – Frederic Fonteyne (Belgium-France-Luxembourg)
The Cutoff Man – Idan Hubel (Israel)
Fly With The Crane – Li Ruijun (China)
A Hijacking – Tobias Lindholm (Denmark)
Leones – Jazmin Lopez (Argentina-France-Netherlands)
Bellas Mariposas – Salvatore Mereu (Italy)
Low Tide – Roberto Minervini (US-Italy-Belgium)
Boxing Day – Bernard Rose (UK-US)
Yema – Djamila Sahraoui (Algeria-France)
Araf – Somewhere In Between – Yesim Ustaoglu (Turkey-France-Germany)
The Millennial Rapture – Koji Wakamatsu (Japan)
Three Sisters – Wang Bing (France-Hong Kong-China)